## Rural Health Professional of the Year Award In Honor of Loren O. Gettel

This award is presented to an individual deserving of recognition for their efforts in rural health in Michigan. The award is granted to an individual who has carried out exemplary work in promoting health in rural areas, shown excellent leadership in the improvement of health care services to the rural areas of Michigan, and has made worthy contributions to the improvement of health to the people in rural Michigan.

## **Previous Award Winners:**

2022 Emily Bergquist, MDHHS Bureau of EMS, Trauma and Preparedness & Sam Watson, Michigan Health & Hospital Association & Julie Novak, Michigan State Medical Society & Philip Bergquist, Michigan Primary Care Association & Keisha Sexton, Michigan Rural Health Clinic Network & Kris Nicholoff, Michigan Osteopathic Association & Norm Hess, Michigan Association of Local Public Health 2021- No Award 2020 Duke Anderson, President, CEO, Hillsdale Community Health Center 2019 Mark Hamed, MD, MBA, MPH, Medical Director of McKenzie Health System's ED/Hospitalist program, Medical Director for Public Health in Sanilac, Tuscola, Huron and Lapeer counties 2018 Andrea Wendling, M.D., Director of Rural Community Health, College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University 2017 John Barnas, Executive Director, Michigan Center for Rural Health 2016 Brian Brasser, President, Spectrum Health United and Kelsey Hospitals. 2015 Steve Barnett, President & CEO, McKenzie Health System 2014 Donna Kubic, Managing Director, Beaver Island Rural Health Clinic 2013 Colleen Johnson, Practice Administrator, Lakeshore Medical Centers 2012 Marjorie Young, Executive Director, Pine Medical Group 2011 William J. Hart, Jr., Michigan Department of Community Health 2010 Ron Nelson, President, Health Services Associates 2009 William "Pat" Miller, President and CEO, Caro Community Hospital 2008 Sally Davis, MAE, Telehealth Consultant, Midwest Alliance for Telehealth and Technology Resources 2007 Charles "Chuck" A. Bianchi, CEO, Hillsdale Community Health Center **2006** Wayne Hellerstedt, CEO, Helen Newberry Joy Hospital 2005 Ed Gamache, CEO, Deckerville Community Hospital 2004 Ned B. Hughes, Jr., Gerber Memorial Hospital 2003 Douglas E. Pattullo, CEO, West Branch Regional Medical Center 2002 Dee McKrow, CEO, Hills and Dales General Hospital 2001 Jeffrey L. Elliott, Administrator/Health Officer, Van Buren/Cass County 2000 Linda Shively, Executive Director, Baldwin Family Health Care 1999 Chris Curtin, Community Services Network of Michigan 1997 Dwight Gascho, CEO, Scheurer Hospital 1996 Donald W. Gast, Southwest Michigan RHC 1995 Dr. Philip Lange, Beaver Island RHC **1994** Dr. Tom Johnson, Michigan State University